A Door to Wonder

I see beautiful art everywhere==in even the most unlikely mundane places and items.

Like doors, for example.

We pass by and through them every day, hardly giving them a second glance. But there are some very beautiful doors out there. I have a file on my computer in which I have saved hundreds of photographs of beautiful doors that I find on the Internet. I love to browse through the photographs now and then because doors make me feel various things: a feeling of beauty, of adventure, of peace, or whimsy. They stir up a sense of wonder, of mystery, of magic.  Once I open that door, who knows what will happen next? I might be entering Narnia or Rivendell or a secret garden or a gateway to another world. I just never know.

She was drawn to that door and had admired it for years. But she’d never dared to walk through it. . .until today. (Queenisms)

Still round the corner there may wait, A new road or a secret gate.
(J. R. R. Tolkien ) 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Categories: Art | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Share Your Thoughts...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

