Real Life Superheros!

Superheroes

I’ve always loved superheroes who rid the world of crime and evil villains. They appeal to my sense of justice, to my love of goodness winning over evil.

I’m glad to announce that Superheros are not merely fictional.

They are real!

Spiderman, Batman, Captain America and Superman and others have shown up at hospitals in various cities. Their alter-egos are window-washers. Their mission is to cheer up sick children, such as those at the Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh as they did their window cleaning rounds.

This group of window washers said they wanted to put smiles on the faces of the children battling illnesses at the hospital in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. “All the guys had tears of joy in their eyes behind the costumes – it was very touching and overwhelming how excited the children were,” he explained.

What an awesome job! If I wasn’t afraid of heights, I would become a superhero window-washer, heroically bringing smiles to the faces of sick children

550_cjacksonNot all superheros are window-washers. I am (somewhat) proud to boast that a city in my county  has its own crime-fighting superhero. His name is Captain Jackson. He has been patrolling the streets of Downtown Jackson, Michigan, since 1999, spreading his message of civic duty while keeping an eye out for crooks and super-villains. He keeps a website with a schedule of community appearances, safety tips, and even a roster of his allied costume heroes, The Crimefighter Corps. Captain Jackson has been maintaining a blog since May 2000 called The Captain’s Corner.

Like all superheroes, Captain Jackson has his kryptonite and arch-rival: In 2004 he was charged with “impaired driving.” The local newspaper subsequently ran an article about the incident and published the Captains real life identity. (Boo!) The media coverage took a toll on our hero, and he took a two-year hiatus. Apparently he is back on active-duty at community events and online, but I have not heard much about him lately.

I often tell my family and friends that I have a superhero power as well: It is finding lost objects. It is minor compared to cheering up sick children or being a crimefighter, but it does save people from absolute panic when they lose something important. My super-weakness is that I cannot ever find myself. I can get lost ANYWHERE, any time. Just a couple of months ago, I needed to find a restroom at a theater and almost went out the emergency exit to the outdoors instead of to the hallway where the bathrooms were located. And a couple of days after that, I turned the wrong way out of a building located two blocks from my home. It doesn’t help to say, “I think I should turn right so, since I am always wrong, I will turn left instead” because I still turn the wrong way. My super-weakness affects others: A few years ago my sister-in-law drove me to Parent’s Night at my son’s Boy Scout Summer camp. My sister-in-law has driven all over the country and rarely gets lost. With me in the car, however, an hour drive took about 3 hours of wandering. Her GPS also got messed up, and at one point led us into a cemetery. I’m glad to say that we did, eventually, make to my son’s camp.

 

Categories: Interesting People | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Share Your Thoughts...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

