The Sky is Everywhere

biking-salar-de-uyuni-bolivia

This is Bolivia’s Salar de Uyuni. It is not just one of the world’s largest salt flats, but also one of the world’s largest–and most accurate–mirrors. Due to its incredible flatness and lithium levels, when the region is exposed to rain it begins to reflect the sky with a variation of only a few percent.

When I was a child, I used to love to walk around the house holding a mirror pointed upwards so it reflected the ceiling. I’d pretend that the house was turned upside-down and I was walking on the ceiling instead of the floor. I’d skirt around ceiling lights and step high to go through doorways.

Go ahead, try it sometime.

I think Salar de Uyuni would be something like walking with a mirror, only instead of walking on the ceiling of a house, I’d be walking in the sky, in the heavens. What would it be like, I wonder, to walk through a sunny day or among mountainous clouds? What would it be like to dance through a vivid sunset, or violent thunderstorm, or the place where snowflakes begin, or over a ribbon of rainbow, or through the shining stars at night? I look at this picture and imagine. 

I could get lost in the magic of a place like this.

The sky is everywhere, it begins at your feet.”
~ Jandy Nelson, The Sky Is Everywhere

Categories: Lakes | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Share Your Thoughts...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

